Must have makeup products

Keeping only ONE makeup product per category

It’s no secret that my makeup collection is excessive. I’ve spent a lot of dollars on makeup products (much to my husband’s dismay), but I’m obsessed and can’t think of a good excuse right now.

I’ve been thinking about what I would pack into one small makeup bag if I was forced to get rid of everything else. Meaning, what are my must-haves out of my entire collection?

I don’t know how some women wear the same products each day, but I am jealous of their savvyness and self control.

After much consideration, here are my picks.

Must have makeup products

Primer

I’d have to say Smashbox Primer Water for this one. I like that it gives hydration and thins out thicker foundations, but also seems to prolong the wear of my foundation. I also don’t seem to have much luck with silicon/slippery primers on my oily skin.

Foundation

UGH, TOUGH ONE. I am a foundation junkie. Especially being so fair-skinned. My obsession with finding the perfect foundation for fair, oily skin in real.

This answer really depends on the season, to be honest. So I am going to cheat.

For the colder months: Estee Lauder Double Wear. Ah, what a beauty. Full coverage and a matte finish.

estee lauder double wear

For the warmer months: Maybelline Fit Me Matte & Poreless.

Maybelline Matte and Poreless

I could really just wear this one all year-round, but I just really love my Double Wear. And MAC Studio Fix. Sigh, moving on…

Concealer

I have fallen in love with Younique’s Touch Mineral concealer. Full coverage, super creamy, blendable, etc. For more info on this product, see this blog post all about Younique products (I even have a demo video there).

Powder

I am not married to any specific powder, honestly. Whatever will set my cake face works for me. So, for now, let’s go with Laura Mercier’s translucent loose setting powder.

Bronzer/Contour Powder

MAC Sculpt shaping powder offers a nice shadow for contour and is warm enough to add a bronzed look (for my skin tone, anyway). I also thoroughly enjoy Physician’s Formula Butter Bronzer in Light – not orange at all and works well on fair skin.

Blush

I will probably change my mind in 5 seconds, but Benefit Rockateur. This is a beauty. It has sheen but no sparkles and has a beautiful mauve color without being too pigmented.

Highlight

Laura Mercier’s Matte Radiance Baked Powder in 01. If you want to glow from within, this is good. If you’re more of a disco ball glow kind of gal, MAC Soft & Gentle is a fave of mine, especially when you wet your brush first. Whew!

Eyeshadow Primer

Nars smudge proof eyeshadow primer is the best of the best. I have very oily eyelids and this holds up great. Only use a little bit on each lid, though!

Eyeshadow

Based on my recent obsession and newest member of my crowded eyeshadow palette family, I have to say the Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance palette. I know, I am predictable.

The warm tones are gorgeous, there are so many fabulous matte shades, you can create a subtle or dramatic eye, and the shadows blend beautifully. The hype is real – I highly recommend this. Love.

Anastasia Modern Renaissance

Eyeliner

NYX matte black liquid liner. The brush makes it super easy to get a sharp wing when you want, but also a thin enough line if you prefer no wing.

Mascara

My eyelashes suck, but I’ve had good experience with Benefit’s Roller Lash. No clumps and it provides good lift/curl.

Brows

I haven’t tried anything that I absolutely love, but I am enjoying my using my NYX brow “gel” (it’s a pomade, really) in Blonde. You don’t even need to set your brows when you use this, but I still do because I’m crazy.

Lip Product

Right now, Jouer liquid lipstick in Dulce de Leche. It’s comfortable, wears a long time, and doesn’t flake off. It’s also a super subtle and wearable color for every day.

Jouer dulce de leche

 

What are your must-haves? I need to know.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Keeping only ONE makeup product per category

Leave a Reply

