Working from home: pros & cons

working from homeI know what you’re thinking: How could there be ANY cons to working from home, in your PJs?

Well, allow me to elaborate.

I recently accepted a fabulous job that allows me to work from the comfort of my own home. The office is close-ish – two hours in traffic – so if I do need to go to the office, it’s totally doable. The job literally fell into my lap and was a no brainer to accept after all of the benefits had been laid out (one of them being working from home). Prior to this position, I had a traditional 9-5 desk job doing many of the same types of tasks I am now.

I have been working from home for a little over one month now, and I think I have a good handle on all of the pros and cons of this work from home gig.

Let’s start with the good stuff, shall we?

Pros

  • I don’t have to wear pants. Or a bra!
  • I don’t have to commute or waste money on gas and tolls.
  • I can take breaks whenever I want to play with my dogs, go on random intense cleaning spurts, walk around outside for 10 minutes here and there, stare at the dirty dishes but not do them, etc.
  • My laundry piles never overflow anymore.
  • Once again, NO COMMUTE!
  • I have a lot of freedom and am able to crank work out in half the time as I would if I were in an office.
  • Flexibility for the win.
  • My boss trusts me a lot more.
  • Without the hours I wasted commuting, I have time for hobbies and crafts, such as this blog you’re reading right now. You’re welcome.
  • I’m much more motivated to make plans on the weekends because I am now able to get some housework done during the week.
  • I cook sometimes now. Weird.
  • I eat healthier now since I’m not dining out or eating the doughnuts someone brought in. So tasty, though.

These are some damn good pros, if I do say so myself. The fact that I no longer am wasting over 10 hours a week sitting in traffic is oh so lovely, really.

However, I knew there would be cons. Nothing deal-break-worthy, of course, but still worth noting.

Work from home

Cons

  • No social time. Dogs don’t converse with me, sadly.
  • Lack of communication between my coworkers/boss and me.
  • I feel left out of a lot of projects/ not knowing what is going on.
  • Getting stuck on phone calls on the regular.
  • I barely ever leave the house. The entire week. Re: no pants or bra.
  • I wait all day for my husband to come home so I can speak to adults (is this how stay-at-home moms feel?). I drive him nuts by constantly asking “When will you be home? Are you almost here?” …my bad
  • It’s difficult to separate work time from non-work time.
  • It’s so easy to get distracted by something to clean, someone to call, something happening outside, your beagle howling at nothing…
  • I still don’t know most of the people in my office.

Conclusion

If you are fortunate enough to get offered a job working from home, I would recommend that you take it. The pros most definitely outweigh the cons. That being said, you need to have some serious self discipline to stay on task and get your work responsibilities done. Otherwise you won’t be working home for much longer. If you catch my drift.

If you are especially extroverted, working from home full-time may be tough. I am pretty much 50/50 introvert/extrovert, so it works well for me. It also pushes me to catch up with friends on the weekends because I crave that social time. Am I annoying them, too? Probably.

What are your thoughts on working from home? Would you do it? If you already do, what do you love/hate about it?

3 thoughts on “Working from home: pros & cons

Leave a Reply

